Month: September 2010

  • NEW MUSIC: Carnegie Hall Overture

    I know all of you WANT to come see Travis Cottrell and Melinda Doolittle at Carnegie Hall this October…BUT since not all of you can make it, I thought I’d post a rough demo of the overture I wrote for the occasion. There’s a tiny hiccup going into the final section…apparently Logic hates tempo changes.  (Oh, and I just noticed that the bitrate of this xanga audio thingy is low…so there may be some fuzzing or noise on the recording here since it’s a low quality audio file.  And BOO for that).

     

     

     

     

  • Burning the Koran

    I’m not much of a news person.  I don’t really watch the news on TV, I don’t have favorite websites like CNN or MSNBC that I check, and I don’t keep up with many current events.  Besides the occasional episode of The Colbert Report or (my favorite) SNL’s Weekend Update, the most news I get is about 5 minutes’ worth of KNX 1070 on the way to and from Starbucks in the morning. I don’t hear much of what’s going on in the world, but here’s what caught my ears the last couple of days:

     

    The pastor of a tiny church in Florida is planning a Koran burning on the 9th anniversary of the 9/11 attacks.  He thinks he’s gonna stick it to the terrorists…

     

    General Petraeus has warned him not to hold the book-burning ceremony.  The Secretary of State, Ms. Clinton has voiced her disapproval…buuuuuuut despite all of the warnings, he’s still going to do it.

     

    WHAT?!??!?!

     

    Um, let me just say if a commanding General in the US Military ever contacted me about ANYTHING, I would listen up.