Month: August 2010

  • Music by Daniel Semsen (A Whole New Website!)

    My apologies to my facebook friends who are undoubtedly seeing this for the third time today…you know…in case you missed the link I posted earlier, or the status update…and oddly enough, they are different things (why facebook? why? why can’t I put a link in a status update without you qualifying it AS a link and NOT a status?!!??  Weirdos.)

     

    Long ago, I posted new music to this blog…but there has been so much lately, and it’s not always wise or legal for me to post stuff just any ole place on the internet. BUT I have been working on my own website for a little while now (and dreaming about it for over a year)  so I am PLEASED to announce that my website is up!

    YAHOO!

     

    So for all the latest news and music updates (and a bunch of other stuff) you should rush on over to www.danielsemsen.com and peruse to your heart’s content!

     

     

  • The Switch is Not a Bomb

    Christy and I ventured out to see “The Switch” this weekend starring Jennifer Aniston and Jason Bateman. 

     

    WE LOVED IT.

     

    Unfortunately, the rest of America was not as excited about it.  IN FACT–The Switch was in 8th place this weekend falling behind stupid movies like “Vampires Suck” and “Piranha 3D”.

    Um.  That’s lame.

     

    Heidi talks more about it on her blog…in case you’re looking for another opinion…or to get to know Heidi. :)

    But I liked it a lot.  Possibly because I love Jason Bateman.  And I tweeted him to tell him that, too…right after the movie ended.

  • iPad Helps Children with Autism?

    Well…THIS is interesting!

    Look folks, scientists say I have to get an iPad! 

    In fact, I would be a bad, BAD parent if I didn’t…right? Anyone else tracking with me here?

     

    I should do it, you know, for Noah.

     

    (wink, wink)

  • Prop 8 Overturned

    Well, just in case you haven’t heard by now, Prop 8 was just ruled unconstitutional by a federal judge.

     

    I’m not one to engage in many controversies, and I don’t love to argue, (with the exception of Sega Genesis vs Super Nintendo–the SNES being the obvious winner there).

    I’m just putting this out there in case you hadn’t heard by now…

  • Steve Carrell, Winner AND Loser!

    This summer has been an interesting one, movie-wise at least.

    And when I say “interesting”, I really mean, kind of dull.  Movies that had great trailers turned out to be duds, and other flicks with dud-trailers turned out to be awesome.  Well, it doesn’t matter how good your trailer is if your movies STINKS.   But this is not a summer movie review…it’s a Steve Carrell movie review.

     

    First off–I was HIGHLY anticipating Dinner with Schmucks.  I adore Steve Carrell.  I’ve been a fan of his since the mid-90s before you ever heard of him.  He lives down the street.  I don’t ever stalk him at ALL.  But DWS was odd, and although funny at times, it fell flat with me.  Part of the reason was because I felt AWKWARD for most of the movie–and I really felt bad for SC’s character…it’s probably the pastor in me–the part that loves everyone (except for Dr. Doofenshmirtz of Doofenshmirtz Evil Incorporated, of course, because he’s pure evil). So I never enjoyed the film-I just felt bad during most of it.  And although it was humorous at points…Dinner with Schmucks fell flat for me…

     

    But the weekend BEFORE that, I saw this movie, we had a clear Steve Carrell WIN!

    Heart-warming, hilarious, well cast…my kids AND I loved it. You can’t go wrong with Despicable Me.

     

     

    My kids desperately want to see it again.

    And secretly, so do I (shhhh, don’t tell).